Internet

How to Delete Your Yahoo Account in 4 Easy Steps

Please share my content!

4 Easy Steps to Delete Your Yahoo Mail and Yahoo Account

Creating a Yahoo Mail account is easy. All you have to do is fill up a single form and you’re done. Deleting your Yahoo Mail account, however, is a completely different story, and that’s why we’ve created this guide.

Using our easy 4-step process, you can delete your Yahoo Mail. Before you delete your account though, you should understand what this actually means.

What does deleting your Yahoo Mail account mean?

The first thing you need to keep in mind before deleting your Yahoo Mail accounts is the other services that might be associated to that account. Other Yahoo services like Flickr will be affected if you delete your account.

Before you proceed with this process, you must be sure that deleting your account is something that you really want to do. Once you delete the account you’ll no longer have access to it and your emails will be removed. People who try to contact you on this account will get a delivery failure message since the account no longer exists. Once you’re 100% sure you want to proceed with this irreversible process, all you have to do is follow the following steps.

Step 1: Sign in to the Yahoo account termination page

In order to get this step done, all you have to do is visit this page and log in using your Yahoo Mail account login information. If you have forgotten your Yahoo Mail account’s password, you recover it then return to this page.

Step 2: Read the “before continuing” text

This tells you exactly what you’ll lose by deleting your account. This can include things from data to the access to some related accounts. Before you proceed with deleting your account, make sure to check these out to make sure you’re not missing anything.

Step 3: Re-enter your email address

After you agree to the “before continuing” text, you’ll be asked to enter your email address again.

Step 4: Select “terminate this account”

This is the last step in your Yahoo Mail account termination process. After you click this, you’ll get a message that tells you that your account is deactivated and is scheduled for deletion. This could last for up to 180 days so you should just forget about for now.

Keep in mind

Before you do a celebratory dance for successfully closing your Yahoo Mail account, you should keep the following things in mind:

Your email address may be taken by someone else

That’s right. Once you delete your email account, the address that you previously had can be used by anyone who is signing up for a new account. If you happen to change your mind and want to resume using your account, you might find out that the address is no longer available.

On top of that, having a new owner for an email address that was previously owned by you can cause all sorts of problems. Before you delete your account, make sure to change different registrations that might be associated with that address.

You can reactivate your account

Having your Yahoo Mail account deleted isn’t an instant thing. The deactivation of the account is instant the deletion isn’t. If you log into your Yahoo account within 40 days from deleting it you still have a chance to retrieve your data and email address. Since it wasn’t deleted, people can’t sign up for it just yet. If you wish to reactivate your close Yahoo account, you can do this via the normal login page. Just type in your login information and sign in like you normally do.

Automatic charges aren’t canceled by closing your account

This is a point that causes confusion for many people. In contrary to what most people think, deleting your account doesn’t stop automatic Yahoo charges from applying. If you have any of these charges being billed to your account, you have to make sure to stop them before deactivating your account. If you don’t do that, you’ll find yourself getting billed for a service that you’re no longer using. Unsubscribing from all paid services that are related to your account before deleting it is an easy step that can spare you lots of trouble.

Notify your contacts about this change

If you’re deleting a Yahoo Mail account that you have been actively using, you must notify your contacts about this change. Email accounts are a serious thing. Letting people know that a certain email address they used to email you at is no longer associated with you is a step that you should never skip. Failing to do so can result in leaking some of your private information to a complete stranger. Sending an email to everyone on your contact list is something that shouldn’t take more than a minute and is definitely worth doing.

Did you find our article helpful? Then you might also be interested in our articles about How to Delete your Google Gmail Account and How to Recover Deleted Files.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *